top of page
  • vogelastrid

A Crack in the Rock by Amber Gabriel

Updated: 6 days ago

This novel was a pleasant surprise. It's everything I looked for without success when I was a teenager, blending the YA vibes and intense romance feels with a steady and very well-thought-out "life story", rather than ending things at marriage or the "HEA". Because live doesn't end there. Happiness isn't "everything that comes after marriage". Relationships are difficult, and Gabriel really goes into complexities.


I was also surprised, and very much enjoyed, the blend this author has managed to put together, creating something unique and unlike any other novel. Although this is not fantasy, the style reminds me most of the low fantasy historic works of Guy Gavriel Kay combined with the political intrigue and focus on relationships I recognize from George R.R. Martin. As women's fiction goes, this was a very enjoyable read and I look forward to seeing more from this author.


I really appreciate how the author incorporated the main character's medical knowledge into the story and really looked at all aspects of the medical profession. I also enjoyed the cultural focus and the author's examination of polygamy and how multiple relationships within the same family can affect individuals and the family as a whole. The outcome in this particular story offered great insight in how such relationships could be managed in a wholesome and emotionally sound way.


If you're looking for something different, whether you enjoy fantasy, historical fiction, or women's fiction, I recommend you give this fascinating read a try.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page