top of page
  • vogelastrid

Guardian by David Combs

Updated: 3 days ago

I thoroughly enjoyed this action-packed continuation in The Witches of Pioneer Vale series. Things pick up precisely where Acension left off, and it gets more intense by the page. This inter-generational fantasy adventure with the dual timeline is a lot of fun to read and I like how the author alternated between what happened in the past and the storyline from the present. There was a good balance between the elements of the story that made the switching work.


If you’re reading this series, then I recommend you read it in one go as it is one continuous storyline. I took a long break between the first and this second book, and while I had absolutely no trouble getting back into the storyline, there are a lot of characters to keep track of, and remembering who’s who did take me a little while.


On the whole, I’m enjoying this exciting adventure with a focus on how those with an inclination towards evil can easily manipulate good people to see evil deeds as justified or necessary. There’s definitely some food for thought here, interwoven with a page-turner plot.


Check out my review of Ascension, Book 1 in the series here.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page