top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an author: Abigail Manning


Abigail Manning is an author, wife, and nanny. She is a fantasy romance author who focuses on retold fairy tales, and when shes not writing, can often be found rewatching Disney princess movies.


Genre: Fantasy Romance


Current WIP:

I'm working on a Beauty and the Beast retelling where the beast holds the entire castle hostage.

What got you into writing your own stories?

I have always wanted to write, but never sat down and did it until I discovered the genre of fairy tale retellings! After that, I was hooked!

How do you describe your writing style? Clean, descriptive, and plot driven.

What comes more easily, plot or characters? The plot! The characters form after the plot for me, and I usually like to make them "oppose" the natural direction of the plot as much as possible.

Do you cross over genres or stick to only one? I'm pretty much only in the fantasy romance world, which I guess is technically already a crossover?

What is your writer's den like? It's literally just a corner on the couch 😆 often shared by a dog!

How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals? I don't reallyvyave any rituals! I can write anywhere at any time, even on road trips!

What's your personally most significant achievement as a writer and why? Probably the friends I've made from other authors and readers! I think the greatest achievement is finding others to support that will support you back.

What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible? I would love to be able to release my entire first series on audiobooks! Right now I have one on the works, so hopefully there are more to come!

What are you most grateful for as a writer? Definitely my audience who inspires and encourages me to keep creating stories ❤️

Do you have a day job? What is it? I do! I'm a nanny to a 3 year old and a 2 years old!

Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not? Yes! I adore fairy tale retellings and read every one I can get my hands on.

Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not? Absolutely! I love supporting my fellow Indie authors and have made quite a few good friends through the indie author community. Their books are some of my favorites.

Is there an author who inspires you? Camille Peters, Kenley Davidson, Mary Mecham, to name a few...

Give us three fun facts about yourself. I studied theater in college, I'm obsessed with tea, and I'm terrified of sock monkeys.

What's one of your funniest experiences? Accidentally making a Disney cast member break character in the Star Wars land. I've never seen Star Wars, so when he tried to interrogate me in Rise of the Resistance I just said, "Hi! I know nothing about space, but I'm having a lot of fun!" He had to walk away...


What is something about you that few people know? I can sing my alphabet faster backwards then forwards!

Do you have any hobbies? I love to bake!

What's your favorite holiday? Thanksgiving! I love food and family.

What's your favorite season? Springtime


Do you have pets? Yes! I have 2 cats and a dog


Poisoned Heart by Abigail Manning

This is my first book and to this day one of my favorites! Its a story about a princess's journey from selfishness to selflessness.

What was the spark that started this book?

My love for fairy tales mixed with some inspiration from the anime Princess Principal

What was the most interesting random fact you researched for this book?

Names of medical herbs


What's the message you worked into this book?

That beauty lies beneath the surface.


Find out more about Abigail Manning here.












4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page