top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Alexis Anicque


Alexis Ancique is an experienced author and avid adventurer. She is driven by her love for travel and exploration. As a mother of two grown children and Nana of four, her family is her pride and joy. In her free time, she enjoys writing and sailing, while her insatiable wanderlust often finds her jumping on planes, trains, or buses.


What got you into writing your own stories? My love of being a story teller.

What comes more easily, plot or characters?

Characters What genre do you write?

Multiple: fantasy fiction adventure, nonfiction autobiographical


Do you cross over genres or do you only stick to one?

Definitely cross over

Tell us about your WIP.

It's the sequel to my story of living on a sailboat.

How would you describe your writing style?

It varies on the book in writing, always an adventure. What is your "writer's den" like?

TV tray in front of my recliner, lol


How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

Noise in the background

What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why? Self publishing because I'm tech challenged

What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible? Becoming a best seller

What are you most grateful for as a writer? The support of my husband and daughter

Do you have a day job? What is it?

Nope, but I do occasionally do upholstery

Has a real-life experience informed your writing? Share the scene it inspired. Moving on a sailboat.


Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not? I read nearly any genre, I like to be surprised, so I pick books by cover and title.

Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not? Yes, I have a FB group full of them and love reading the unknown gems.

Is there an author who inspires you? Probably Stephen king because he did his books out of his trunk.

Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  1. I can sew anything,

  2. I was into auto mechanics as a teen,

  3. I backpacked through twenty countries.

What's one of your funniest experiences? Getting kicked off a train in the middle of the night in Romania.


What is something about you that few people know? I always wanted to be a public speaker

Do you have any hobbies? Too many! Camping, hiking, sailing, sewing, fishing, roller skating, biking, volunteering at a wilderness Park, and more

What's your favorite holiday?

I don't really do holidays

What's your favorite season?

I'd say 78-85 degrees, in Texas spring or fall

Connect with Alexis here.


Featured Book: Finding Famous


Famous' adventure began with fairytales of monsters, witches and wizards. The fairytales her mother had told her as a child, were not just fairy tales, but a world of magic and danger where she not only finds out where she came from, but who she is.


Why would you like to feature this book?

It's the first in my series, it was a heartfelt, wonderful, fun adventure to write.

She never denied the existence of monsters, just that they had rules

Who was your favorite character to write and why? Jeremiah because he's a wizard, of sorts, he's also always teaching a valuable lesson.


What was your favorite scene to write and why? Anything crazy happening in travel.

What was the spark that started this book? I wanted to write about a strong mother/daughter relationship.


This story swept me away. The main character is so relatable and heartwarming. The plot full of adventure and discovery. Magic and intrigue. It was a well written tale that was such a joy to read, and I look forward to diving into the other book in this series.

What was the most interesting random fact you researched for this book? Ghosts in a hotel

What's the message you worked into this book?

Sometimes the journey is more important than the destination.



11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page