top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Angela R. Hughes

Historical epic fantasy author Angela R. Hughes believes in the power of storytelling. Her ambition to write stories that grip and inspire readers led her to study Celtic mythology and live for a time in Ireland, where she fell in love with the history and landscapes of “the Emerald Isle,” Wales, Scotland, and England. When she isn’t traveling or researching Arthurian legend, Angela is chatting with fellow fantasy nerds over coffee or spending time with her family at home in Waco, Texas.

What got you into writing your own stories?

My love for history, myth and legend, coupled with my passion for stories themselves led me to want to write my own stories. I have always had stories dancing in my head, but it wasn't until I visited Ireland 4 yrs ago that I was encouraged to be brave enough to actually write one of those stories down.

What genre do you write?

Historical Fantasy


Tell us about your WIP.

I am currently in the editing phase of Book 3 of my "Once & Future Chronicles" trilogy

How would you describe your writing style?

I have very old school literary/prose style - mixed with the more fast paced-action fantasy stylings that is more common now. I like to have at least two POV's in my story - creating balance between my characters and their experiences.

What comes more easily, plot or characters?

Characters first. I become fascinated with the characters that speak to me, and then the plot develops around where I need to take that character, or better yet, where the character is telling me they need to go. Though I am definitely a plotter when it comes to writing, the characters can surprise me, and change direction of the plot. Their experience and arc are of highest importance within my stories.

Do you cross over genres or do you only stick to one?

I mostly write through the lense of Fantasy mingled with historical myth, but I do have a book I am aching to write that will be a modern day ghost story/paranormal mystery. But even that has a mythological monsters native the landscape that will ping my mythology nerd box.


What is your "writer's den" like?

I have a desk is my writing space, and it is loaded with books, and dragons. There are many hopeful spaces I am creating where will hang swords, and other mythological creatures. The more the merrier.

How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

I definitely like to put on my noise cancelling headphones and play some mood music to get my head into the space of my story. But truly, my flow comes as I begin moving my fingers across the keys of my keyboard regardless of how I feel. Sometimes I am motivated to write, other times I would rather be doing something else. But I do not give myself the choice to not write. I just do it, and in the midst of that discipline, the magic always comes.

What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why?

I think it was when I wrote the last line of Book 3. I have devoted so much of my time writing this trilogy, and finishing Book 1 and 2, still left me with the feeling that I still had a long way to go to finish telling the story. I had this bug to get the entire series out. I felt like I had conquered an impossible mountain when I typed 'the end' and I knew I had done it. Though really even more than that, my most significant achievement was when my daughter told me, as we were sitting around the dinner table, that she could do anything. I glanced over at her, and I said, "Of course you can." Then she said, "Because my mommy said she could write a book, and she did. So that means, I can too." It is a proud moment when you have inspired your children to reach big, giving them the permission to do so, because I chose to take a leap of faith and do something hard.


What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible?

The greatest aim for a writer is to inspire others, and change lives through what you write. Words are very powerful. They either give life, or they rob you of it. Stories have a way of pushing passed peoples walls, and taking them somewhere they can heal, and even cause them dream. More than fame, money or big movies being made of our stories -- Inspiring people is the highest prize. I hope that one person reads my story, and they are given the permission to grieve, and then choose hope again. I hope someone reads my story and my characters make them want to write characters of their own. I hope that my stories will help one person see beyond their own world, and reach higher.


What are you most grateful for as a writer?

I am grateful for the story I was given to write. It felt like a gift dropped into my life that made me choose to be brave. I am grateful also for the other author's I have met along the way that help me to grow in my craft and championed the publication of my books. Couldn't have really done without the help of others.

Do you have a day job? What is it?

I am a homeschool mom in the morning, and a writing coach and publishing consultant in the afternoons.

Has a real-life experience informed your writing? Share the scene it inspired.

Yes. Elements of my childhood, and some of my own personal losses have made it into my story. One of the greatest themes of my current trilogy is 'What happens when the worst possible thing does happen? When all the promises have been broken, and everything you have spent your life working for is gone? What happens when someone dies that shouldn't have? Is there still hope on the other side?'

Going through COVID was a difficult time in a lot of people's lives. For me and my family the crisis happened just as we were looking for a new home. Suddenly the world shut down, and the opportunity to find a house became increasingly difficult. But then, wildfires and arsonists burnt down our city. Several of my friends lost EVERYTHING. There were no homes to rent or buy after the fires. The whole city was black and charred, my husband, two kids, and our dog and cat were in a camper in my sister's backyard with housing prices skyrocketing. We felt fortunate after watching so many of our friends end up with less after the crisis. But then, things got harder. We lost a dear friend, who had only just had her baby--leaving her husband behind to raise their daughter alone. She wasn't supposed to die. That was not what was supposed to happen. There was a lot of pain, and a feeling of hopelessness. I wrote all of Book One; Elanor & The Song of the Bard during this time, and you can definitely read the echoes of pieces of that experience sprinkled throughout. There was hope. We did find a home, and we were able to heal. Our city did rebuild, though so many of us were scattered in the wind over the US. Life did continue. Fantasy stories have a way of taking you through the trauma in a way that is palatable, suspenseful and exciting. And I am glad I had the opportunity to take nuggets of gold out of the ashes and put it into my books.


Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not?

Absolutely. I write the kind of books I like to read. I love Authors like Stephen Lawhead and Mary Stewart. Of course the classics like JRR Tolkien and George MacDonald inspired my love of storytelling.

Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not?

Yes! I love supporting other authors and reading their fantastic stories. My particular fav right now is Stephanie Cotta, and her Book the Conjurers Curse. SO GOOD.

Is there an author who inspires you?

Definitely Stephen Lawhead. He writes his fantasies with a lot of historical and mythical twists that have hugely inspired me. His series the "The Song of Albion" about a young man who finds himself in another world hugely inspired me. Especially his world building within the framework of of Celtic mythology fascinates me. I always love the idea of fantasy being made real by taking pieces of history and myth, making you wish that is truly how it was.

Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  1. I am an Artist

  2. Arthurian Legend Nerd

  3. Love wineries.


What's one of your funniest experiences?

Living in Ireland for 2 years was an epic part of my life. One of my favorite things was walking through Dublin City and people watching through cafe windows with drinking coffee and eating scones.

What is something about you that few people know?

My love language is coffee and eclairs.

Do you have any hobbies?

I love baking. Especially trying new pastry recipes that are a challenge. My kids love this hobby.

What's your favorite holiday? Christmas. There is always so much excitement in the air, being with family. Especially as a parent, the wonder and the magic of Christmas morning never gets old.

What's your favorite season?

The Autumn. The weather is cool, the trees are beautiful, and my kitchen smells like cinnamon.


Do you have pets?

Yes, a dachshund named Jedi, a husky named Sylvi, and a cat named Dragon


Connect with Angela R. Hughes here.


Featured Book:

Elanor & The Song of the Bard, Book One of The Once & Future Chronicles


"You are hoping not at all, my friend. You fear hope is a liar, and so you do not even listen."

~ Marcus to Merlin "Elanor & The Song of the Bard



Why would you like to feature this book?

This is Book One of my trilogy, and is a great place to start the adventure


Who was your favorite character to write and why?

Definitely Merlin. Merlin has been a character that has mystified and intrigued me for years. It was one of my greatest privileges to get to write my version of him.



What was the most interesting random fact you researched for this book?

Tale of King Arthur & Merlin are the most retold and rewritten stories next to the bible.



What was your favorite scene to write and why?

Probably the scene with the 'Gwylgi' a welsh monster that manifests as a soul stealing hound. This scene was both scary and exciting, and kept me typing away because I wanted to know how the scene was going to turn out. I went into it blindly, not really knowing for sure just how bad things were going to get as this monster was unleashed on my characters. I myself was sitting on the edge of my seat, hoping that my characters were going to survive the night.


A great story and a new favorite author. Loved it and excited for book 2 and 3. This had King Arthur, Merlin, Gwynevere, unicorns, dragons, demons, and more. Fantastic storytelling that truly brings you in and doesn't let you go.

What was the spark that started this book?

The story came to be, and I kept telling my husband I wished I knew someone who would write it. It was a story that needed to be told. He, along with others, kept telling me I should write it, but I was having the worst case of imposter syndrome. But I knew they were right, but still hesitated to take the leap.

That was until I was on a trip to Northern Ireland. A group of us had just hiked to the top of a hill that had an epic view of the landscape. Behind me was a giant boulder that was said to have inspired CS Lewis's 'stone table' in his Lion Witch and Wardrobe. I had told no one that there I travelled with that I was planning on writing these books. I had even taken my computer to start writing during the trip but hadn't started. As I stared across the grand scenery, a new friend of mine, put his arm around my shoulders and said, "It's time to write that book."


I took this as a sign, and from that moment forward, I never stopped writing.


What's the message you worked into this book?

"There is grief, but there is also hope."


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page