top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Donna Marie West

Donna Marie West is a Canadian educator, translator, author, and freelance editor with some 500 short stories and non-fiction articles in a wide variety of markets to her credit. She loves the unusual, unexplained, and mysterious, and often finds ways to weave these themes into her stories. Her current novel, The Mud Man, was published in 2022. Donna spends her precious free time reading, writing, and doing research for her current projects.


What got you into writing your own stories?

I've actually always loved writing, even back in elementary school. I think telling stories is the best way I have to express myself.


What genre do you write?

I prefer what I call alternative history, but also horror, fantasy, and sci-fi, or combinations thereof, for YA and New Adult especially.


Tell us about your WIP.

I'm currently in the process of publishing my second novel, Next in Line, with a traditional publisher. In short, it's alternative history involving the descendant of Jesus Christ.


How would you describe your writing style?

Hmm. Casual, I guess, in that I don't want readers to need a dictionary beside them. Also I try to write in a way that gets the reader emotionally involved. Lastly, if they can learn something too, that's a plus.


What comes more easily, plot or characters?

I think I start with characters and then put them in a situation. So, characters.


What is your "writer's den" like?

Usually it's my office, sitting in front of the computer. Sometimes in the summer, outside in the sun with pen and paper.


What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible?

Aside from having a bestseller (doesn't every writer want that?), just to have readers tell me they loved my story.


What are you most grateful for as a writer?

Readers, of course. And having time to write, which I didn't have much of when I was younger.

Do you have a day job? What is it?


Do you have a day job? What is it?

I've just retired from teaching, so now my main job is as a freelance editor, hoping to make ends meet that way.


Has a real-life experience informed your writing? Share the scene it inspired.

I can't think of one particular experience, but people I meet and events in my life definitely end up in my stories.


Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not?

I do. I think we need to encourage and support each other. I have also gotten into the habit of leaving reviews on Amazon and/or Goodreads, something I didn't do before on a regular basis. Now I know how important reviews are to authors.


Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  • I am a horse and cat lover.

  • I am bilingual (French and English).

  • And... hmm... I love doing research for everything I write or edit.


What is something about you that few people know?

I have never flown in a plane and plan never to. Terrified doesn't even begin to explain it.


Do you have any hobbies?

I used to ride horses, although that was more of a job than a hobby. Too old now, though, so I guess my main hobby is reading and watching TV or movies.


What's your favorite season?

Spring, summer, and fall are all good. I hate winter. (I live in Quebec, where winters are oh so cold!)


Do you have pets?

I lost my horse of 31 years two years ago. Not a pet but rather, a life partner who was born in my arms and died in them. But I have three kitties who are my furbabies.


Connect with Donna Marie West here.



Featured Book: The Mud Man

A lot of research went into this novel. I'm very proud of it and I believe it is a unique story with an amazing, unique character in Dom.


One of the most unique, emotional, engrossing novels I’ve read to date. Be prepared to gasp, laugh, and cry.

Who was your favorite character to write and why?


Dom, for obvious reasons once you read the book. For his courage and determination and how he remains himself despite his unimaginable situation.


What was your favorite scene to write and why?

I don't think I have a favorite scene, but I loved writing scenes with Dom and the dogs and cats.


What was the spark that started this book?

The discovery of Otzi, a frozen mummy found in the Alps several years ago, along with ongoing discoveries of all sorts of frozen animals and microbes in thawing permafrost soil and ice. Readers should google these things, they are amazing!


Is he dead? he wonders. No, he cannot be dead. Death would not hurt so much.

What was the most interesting random fact you researched for this book?

3,000,000-year-old frozen microbes that became alive when thawed. Who knew?


What's the message you worked into this book?

I think something about how much we don't know about humanity's past, and also respect for the environment.




50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page