top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an author: Iris Knox

High stakes epic fantasy


What was the spark that started Tribe of Midnight?

I love Adrienne Young, so this book was originally crafted in my head after reading some of her books. I wanted to write a book about clashing enemy tribes where the players' hearts start to change because of time spent together, but I wanted to add a flair of magic and fantasy to the TOM universe to make it a little different. I also decided to incorporate elements of the fairytale Little Red Riding Hood because I love fairytales. I wanted the reader to finish the book and be able to ask themselves, "Who was the real wolf of this story?"

Name one thing you’re proud of having achieved with Tribe of Midnight?

I'm proud of the worldbuilding in TOM. There were a few nights I didn't sleep during the time I was writing it because I was sorting out the different values and belief systems of the tribes. I am religious, so I decided to put elements of faith--but a little bit twisted--into the belief systems to enrich the experience.

Please tell us a little about your writing style. What/who has influenced you?

Well, obviously Adrienne Young was a major influence, but also Sarah J. Maas because she introduced me to the concept of High Courts and gave me the idea of making a menacing group that ruled each tribe that the reader is meant to fear.

What was the most interesting/random fact you discovered while researching for Tribe of Midnight?

Honestly I probably did the most research on what kinds of cuts/blows/stabs would kill a person, and which ones someone can survive from. Ha!

Share something about your main character(s) that is super important to you and why that is.

Lillian Utopiv takes a real beating, and not just physically. I wanted to create a female character who could be put through the worst of life--mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually--and still get back up and find the fight within her afterward. Unfortunately these kinds of abuses aren't only in fairytales, they're also in real life for some people. That's why I dedicated the book: To every girl who ever took a hit and got back up.

Is there something from your own life or experience that has found its way into Tribe of Midnight?

I made Wyran a painter to give him some more dimension--as someone who's been a visual artist for most of my life, I thought it would be a nice touch to the story.

What’s next for you and your writing?

I'm currently working on Book 2 of the series, Tribe of Dawn. In TOD, we get to see what happens to Wyran, now that Lillian is the one with the upper hand. Will she choose revenge, or forgiveness? Or maybe a little of both?

What book(s) changed your life?

Oh that's easy! "Caraval" by Stephanie Garber, "The Alice Network" by Kate Quinn, "Sky in the Deep" by Adrienne Young, and "Throne of Glass" by Sarah J. Maas

Is there a cause that’s important to you?

Of course, there are plenty. I think my favourite one is Eden Ministries which is based out of Australia. They organize rescues for women and girls who have been kidnapped and forced into sex slavery (yes, this still happens even in our current world.) Eden hides the women in safehouses, gives them trauma counselling, and provides them with jobs (if they want them) of hand making jewelry. Eden sells these jewelry pieces online to people all over the world while keeping the women's identities safe, and the women are able to provide for themselves and get back on their feet through their own work. It's a great cause and I've purchased several of their jewelry items in the past to support them.


Connect with Iris Knox here.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page