top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Isaiah Burt

Updated: 6 days ago

Isaiah Burt is a dark fantasy author who has been writing professionally for about four years. His infernal tales concern themselves with challenging established power, questing for personal agency, and, perhaps most importantly, rule of cool. Other hobbies of his include tabletop games, cooking, and martial arts.


What got you into writing your own stories?


The beginning of my writing journey had to be shortly after I discovered Bionicle when I was about six years old. For those of you who are unfamiliar, Bionicle is a franchise of action figures that was made by Lego from 2001-2011, then rebooted for a short second run around 2015 or so. The term “Bionicle” is short for Biological Chronicle and tells the tales of bio-mechanical beings with elemental powers. It set my mind ablaze the way nothing else did. Legos were already a fact of life in my household growing up, but Bionicles were my particular obsession, and I loved learning everything there was to know about the world and the lore. When I wasn’t playing with the figures and building my own, I could often be found drawing comics about them. My first attempt at a novel was at the age of eight after seeing the Bionicle: Mask of Light movie, grabbing a composition notebook, and recording every detail I could. Since then, writing has been my biggest passion in life.


What genre do you write?

My favorite genre is dark fantasy (and grimdark), but I take on fantasy of all kinds, and I also dabble in science fiction.


Tell us about your WIP.

My never ending work in progress is my Diabolical Ascension mythos. Find it here. It chronicles the journeys of the devil Zeraga Baal'khal as he fights to be free of Asmodeus, the archdevil who created him. Expect lots of fire and gore!


How would you describe your writing style?

Image-focused and punchy are the best words to describe my style, I think. I love painting a picture with my work, especially since I typically write about fantastical environments, but I've also learned the value of short, blunt sentences, especially to drive the action home.


What comes more easily, plot or characters?

Definitely the characters! My main characters are based on facets of my personality, so I get an idea for a character first, and then the story follows. A lot of the time, I'll start writing about a character with no expectations for the plot and see where it goes.


Do you cross over genres or do you only stick to one?

I cross genres, keeping in mind an article written by my friend and fellow author Neal Litherland. As long as I like it and it works for the story, I use it.


What is your "writer's den" like?

My den is my home desk. It has my laptop with two monitors displaying artwork of my characters; I consider this to be like an altar. Bionicles stand an eternal vigil about the second monitor. Surrounding this is a morass of pens, notebooks, and reading books.


How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

I just sit down and write a paragraph at a time as quickly or slowly as feels natural to me.


What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why?

My short story anthology Darkness & Glory is my most personally significant accomplishment. Being able to own a physical copy of a book I wrote is awesome.


What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible?

Truthfully, I want to support myself and my family comfortably on the earnings from my books.


What are you most grateful for as a writer?

I am most grateful for the people I met along the journey who helped take my writing to a new level. All of you know who you are. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.


Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not?

Yes, absolutely. I believe that it is essential to read the same genres that one writes. Besides that, I very much feel at home when reading dark fantasy and grimdark, and it gives me the opportunity to better my own work by seeing how other authors in my genre do things.


Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not?

I read some indie works, with my most recent being the first two books of the Elementas Series by Haley Anna Marie. I'll admit that I don't make much of a distinction between indie authors and non-indie authors when it comes to fiction because it essentially boils down to self-published vs. traditionally published. Plus, there are indie authors whose works are far more worthwhile to read than those being churned out by professional publishing houses. You just gotta find what you like.


Is there an author who inspires you?

Michael Moorcock, for sure! Elric of Melniboné, Moorcock's main contribution to fantasy, has influenced my work directly and has also served as an influence on my other sources of inspiration (notedly Warhammer and to a lesser extent, Planescape, as Moorcock was one of the first authors to write in a multiverse setting). To me, Elric is the epitome of antiheroes because he is unapologetically self-interested, and that is his basis for wanting to make the multiverse a place (group of places?) where everyone is free to advance to the fullest extent of their abilities. Additionally, when not in battle, Elric doesn’t revel in his relationship with demon-sword Stormbringer, instead viewing the weapon as a useful tool and a necessary evil. I love this quote from him: "I think of myself as a bad writer with big ideas, but I’d rather be that than a big writer with bad ideas.”


Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  • My favorite color is red

  • My first pet was a hamster named Fluffy

  • My first ever World of Warcraft character was a night elf warrior named Gorm.


What is something about you that few people know?

Despite heavy metal being my favorite genre of music, I didn't like Guns 'n' Roses the first time I heard them. I thought they were too soft and sweet. Boy, was I wrong about that!


Do you have any hobbies?

I enjoy cooking, martial arts, painting miniatures, Magic: The Gathering, and World of Warcraft.


What's your favorite holiday?

My birthday!


Connect with Isaiah here.


Featured Book: Legacy of Flames


Who was your favorite character to write and why?

Gnav was my favorite character to write. He's muscular and great with a sword, but he's definitely no simpleton, and he has a mode of thought that's very different from what would be expected from a human, in no small part because of his keener, more animal-like, senses. I enjoyed characterizing him and writing his idiosyncrasies.



What was your favorite scene to write and why?

The book's climax where Gnav fights the dragon Arvothaxx was my favorite. It's a real banger!



What was the spark that started Legacy of Flames?

Legacy of Flames came about because my friend Neal Litherland has been publishing Pathfinder and D&D 5E supplements for his Sundara fantasy setting. I loved the general vibe of it, and I really wanted to write a story in the setting. In that particular scenario, I had a treasure trove of his lore to guide me, and I had fun putting my own twist on it. The fact that his publisher (and now one of my publishers), Azukail Games, agreed to take on the project was icing on the cake as far as I was concerned.


The nights are dark and filled with horrors,” the Razor Skull replied. The glow in his eyes intensified. This quote, spoken by Gnav, the protagonist, is my favorite because it shows one final twist right at the end.

What's the message you worked into this book?

As with many of my works, the message here is to show strength in the face of adversity and don't stop until you get what you want. Ever forward!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page