top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Karyne Norton

Updated: Apr 26

Karyne Norton hasn’t found the key to time travel, immortality, or infinite lives, so she’s taking a break from nursing and photography to focus on raising four human beings while writing epic fantasy. Her debut novel, Blood of the Stars, launched on Kickstarter in September 2023 and came to retailers in March 2024. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, which is why she’s also the host of the Finding Fantasy Reads podcast, where she reads a new short story every week from a variety of fantasy authors.


What got you into writing your own stories?

Reading. I checked out the maximum 24 books every week my mom took me to the library. I started writing when I was 8, but I didn't take it seriously until we moved to Rwanda for a couple years when I had my own kids. The slow pace of life mixed with the language barrier and lack of access to friends and family gave me the time I needed to finish my first book and develop good writing habits.


What genre do you write?

Fantasy & sci-fi, but the sci-fi is waiting a few years to see the light of day


Tell us about your WIP.

I'm currently writing The Half-Light Chronicles, which is a series that centers around descendants of Stars who have magic in their blood. It has found family, reluctant royalty, frenemies to lovers, sloooowburn romance, and dragons.


How would you describe your writing style?

Eclectic. My epic fantasy series is fairly plot twisty with the story building on layers. My sci-fi tends to have more a more mystery/thriller/action tone and pace. And then my short stories are often slower and more thoughtful. I like changing it up for myself and my readers.


What is your "writer's den" like?

Ha! I'm currently walking on my tread desk in my room. I don't have a real writer's den. When we kick one of these kids out, then I'll create a writing lair.


How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

No. With kids and tight schedules, I don't have the luxury of waiting for the flow or performing rituals. If the clock says it's time to write, I have to do it.


What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why?

A few years back I set aside my projects to write a NaNoWriMo novel for my son. It's the only MG I've ever written, but I wrote it for him. I fed him the chapters each week and on Christmas morning I was able to give him the final chapters. He loved it, and ever since he has been my biggest cheerleader and a huge part of my motivation is to make him proud.


What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible?

To have my other son get excited about something I write. LOL But that would probably require switching genres. I'll keep working on him.


What are you most grateful for as a writer?

My husband's support. Many men would want me to start working as a nurse again to bring in more money, but he wants me to do the thing that makes me happy. He makes sure I have days away to write and he picks up my slack when things get crazy.


Do you have a day job? What is it?

I was a labor and delivery nurse for twelve years, but I've been a stay at home mom for the last five. My kids are 14, 12, 7, and 5, so that keeps me plenty busy.


Has a real-life experience informed your writing? Share the scene it inspired.

I have an entire book written from the perspective of an OB physician and his pregnant daughter, but it's the weirdest sci-fi I've ever written and I'm not sure anyone will see it.


Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not?

Yes. I will read the occasional YA sweet romance to cleanse my palate, but for the most part I stick with fantasy and SF, both adult and YA. Even when I read books that I know don't have speculative elements, I keep trying to fit them in there. I have enough reality in my life.


Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not?

Of course! Part of the reason I started my podcast was so I could read more indie authors' works. I love being able to have fantastic books and authors to share with my readers, and the only way to find them is by reading their books.


Is there an author who inspires you?

Mary E. Pearson managed to write an excellent fantasy series and an excellent sci-fi series. I think she's the reason I felt like it wasn't crazy for me to write both even though most people try to narrow it down to just one genre.


Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  • I lived in Rwanda and walked with gorillas.

  • I married my high school sweetheart (therefore no one can tell me YA romance is unrealistic).

  • I hate the sound of my recorded voice even though I narrate short stories on my podcast. Which just means sometimes it's worth shelving our pride.


What's your favorite holiday?

The day after Christmas. Not really a holiday, I know, but it's when everything slows down and I can really enjoy the holiday season. I grew up celebrating on Christmas Eve, so that used to be Christmas Day for me, but now it's the day after Christmas.


What's your favorite season?

Winter, but because I live in Arizona, that's sort of like everyone else's spring or early fall.


Connect with Karyne here.


Featured Book: Blood of the Stars

This is my debut novel, and while it funded way beyond my expectations in September, it's officially launching on retailers March 18th, 2024.


Who was your favorite character to write and why?

Orra, who is not either of the main characters. The story is told from two main points of view, but there's a third that pops up now and then, and I absolutely love her. She's mysterious and vague and a lot of my favorite lines and big themes come from her. I actually wrote a novella around her that will be released this summer because I just couldn't get enough of her tiny random chapters.


What was your favorite scene to write and why?

The two main characters are separated for a good chunk of the novel, and I loved writing the scenes where they're first reunited. It didn't go the way they expected and I loved that because when in love do those kinds of things go exactly the way we plan?



What was the spark that started Blood of the Stars?

My husband and I were driving home from a camping trip in the middle of the night. We'd left early because the people around us were being ridiculously loud and rude and I couldn't sleep because I'd worked the night shift the night before. Instead I just kept staring out the window up at the stars and dreaming up my own fantasy world.


What was the most interesting random fact you researched for Blood of the Stars?

Lunar cycles. It was less about research and more about the need to meticulously track lunar cycles. There's a species in my book that waxes and wanes with the moon, so those characters are reborn every month. It's made parts of my writing a bit more tedious than I ever wanted, but I absolutely love having these creatures in my book.


What's the message you worked into Blood of the Stars?

Aeliana is the main character, and she's been raised on blood magic. She hates it and wants nothing to do with it, and she has to learn that she can choose to use it for good instead of evil, and that so much of the right and wrong that we do stems from the heart behind our actions.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page