top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: Kristi Shimada


What was the spark that started The Samurai’s Gift

I wanted to write a book with a little boy as the main character. Both my husband and I have ancestors that are samurai. I also wanted a healing element in the book that may assist children

to heal their own inner spirit.

​​

Name one thing you’re proud of having achieved with The Samurai’s Gift.

Publishing the book to reach children all over the world. If the book helps one child or person to smile and bring joy, that would make me happy.

Please tell us a little about your writing style. What/who has influenced you?

I wrote and illustrated a book when I was eight years old. The librarian asked to keep in the library so she could share it with other children. My mother is a author and she inspired me to write.


What was the most interesting/random fact you discovered while researching for The Samurai’s Gift?

I did not know the Samurai had a creed, a Bushido Code, which there are fifteen codes or rules.

Share something about your main character that is super important to you and why that is.

Yoshi is a young boy struggling with a physical ailment that was triggered by an emotion, anger. It was important to show the strength of the body, mind, and spirit working together to help heal him.

Is there something from your own life or experience that has found its way into The Samurai’s Gift?

I always felt that if the body, mind, and spirit are in harmony and balance, one can heal, if it is meant to be.


What’s next for you and your writing?

I am retiring from my job of twenty-one years at the end of this year. I will continue writing children’s books, hopefully they will bring joy to children.


What book(s) changed your life?

My favorite children’s books are Beauty and the Beast and Cinderella. I love them because they taught me unconditional love, compassion, respect, and a happy ending. 😊 All books change me in one way or another. I can always find a message in books I read to help me grow as a person.


Is there a cause that’s important to you?

Helping children in any way I can. Every book I have published, my illustrator and I donate to a children’s hospital, school, or cause. Here are a few: St. Jude’s Childrens Hospital, Seattle Childrens Hospital, Alex Lemonade Stand, My Stuffed Bags, Orphanage in Indonesia, individuals, etc.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page