top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an author: M.C. Beeler


Today, I'd like to introduce you to a fascinating new author I've recently connected with. While Beeler works in robotics during the day, she spends her evenings spinning tales of fantasy worlds with talking animals, elemental magic, and most importantly, flying fairy-winged toads. On the off chance that she isn't writing, she can be found playing the newest Pokemon game.


What got you into writing your own stories? I started writing my first novel when I was 12 years old on vacation when I was bored. I've always been into storytelling and I think it began when I was younger and used to play "make believe" at recess (basically me and my friends running around pretending we are Pokemon or animals). So then I guess playing these roles developed into writing them.

What genre do you write?

I write Young Adult Portal Fantasy very similar to Narnia or Alice in Wonderland.

Tell us about your WIP.

My series is a YA Portal Fantasy with lots of talking animals, elemental magic, and wholesome vibes centered around the theme of found family

How would you describe your writing style?

The first word that comes to mind is chaotic. I never really have a concrete plan going into the writing of a new book. It mainly starts with a concrete idea of a scene and I build up around that scene until it becomes a novel! That's a pretty brief overview, but that's what works best for me. I'm a pantser.

What comes more easily, plot or characters?

Characters! I love creating characters. I pretty much immediately get character art done of them too so that I have a concrete view of what they look like and it helps me to get into their role easier.

Do you cross over genres or do you only stick to one?

I've been dabbling in writing a romcom on the side...and a thriller. They aren't much more than 5k words each, but one day I'd love to see them finished

What is your "writer's den" like?

My writers den is a desk in my bedroom because I do not have a dedicated office (yet!!). It's covered in posters and things that inspire me related to my book--so lots of character art, snippets of my favorite scenes, and other things that bring back my love of my world.

How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

Sit down and do it. But with the help of some tea ;)

What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why? Getting invited to be a speaking at 20Books Vegas (the largest conference for authors in the world)

What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible? I mean, this is pretty basic, but I would love to see my fantasy series adapted into an animated TV series

What are you most grateful for as a writer? My support system. My friends and family have always been so supportive of my in following this passion and cheering me on.

Do you have a day job? What is it? I do! I work in robotics sales :)

Has a real-life experience informed your writing? Share the scene it inspired. I went to summer camp as a kid and that definitely inspired the location and setup of my fantasy series. It starts off with a socially anxious girl being sent away to summer camp where she and her counselor fall into a fantasy portal to another world. The setup of the camp pretty much mirrored my experience at camp (though opposite of my main character, I actually loved summer camp).

Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not? Nope! I actually do not read much fantasy at all. I primarily read thrillers or romance novels.

Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not? Of course! Reading other indie works actually inspires me to keep working towards my dreams because if they can do it, I can do it :)

Is there an author who inspires you? DE Night has created a really cool world and fanbase around it and I admire that a lot. I want to be fan focused and I think she does a good job of that. Also James A Owen is incredible too, His story about perseverance and following your dreams no matter what your age is really inspiring to me because I started when I was 12

Do you have any hobbies? I love to snowboard in the winter. I have been going since I was 3 and grew up going every year. In college I was the president of my universities Ski and Snowboard Team and it was a blast

What's your favorite holiday?

4th of July, my town goes crazy


Featured book: A Sacred Tale Collection


M.C. Beeler is running a Kickstarter Campaign for this until April 3, so be sure to head over as soon as possible!!


What was your favorite scene to write and why? I really enjoyed writing Tab and Fawn's backstory and how they met in one of the most dangerous clubs in the fantasy city where the story takes place

What was the spark that started this book? My readers wanted to know the backstories of some of their favorite characters, so I provided :)

What was the most interesting random fact you researched for this book? How to stitch a wound when stranded in the desert.














Be sure to connect with M.C. Beeler to stay up to date with her releases and other bookish news. Connect with her here.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page