top of page
  • vogelastrid

Interview with an Author: W.E. Parker

Updated: Apr 26

Hello, I'm William and I've been writing since I was about 12 or 13 years old. I write mixed genre novels, but mainly fantasy and science fiction.



What got you into writing your own stories?

I remember reading Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams and it enflamed my imagination to such a degree that I knew I had to invent my own stories and characters.



Tell us about your WIP.

My work in progress novel is a sequel to my novel the 'Cloudscape Chronicles'



How would you describe your writing style?

Humorous but descriptive



What comes more easily, plot or characters?

Characters come more easily for me than the plot, I often craft the characters first and their arcs then form the plot that carries them forward afterwards.


What is your "writer's den" like?

My writer's den is my bedroom desk, it has a shelf with figurines and books from all my different passions.


How do you get into the flow for writing? Do you have any rituals?

I tend to read something else first, usually something I consider to be good. This then inspires me to write in a quality way and makes my brain think more than if I just shot from the hip.


What is your personally most significant achievement as a writer, and why?

Completing the Cloudscape Chronicles is still my proudest moment.


What would be the greatest achievement for you to aim for as a writer if anything were possible?

To write a fully realised, complete trilogy.


What are you most grateful for as a writer?

I'm most grateful to my readers, no matter how small of a pool of people that is.


Do you have a day job? What is it?

I am currently doing work training at a local cafe.


Do you read the same genre you write? Why, or why not?

Yes, but I also branch into other genres when I get the chance to.


Do you read fellow indie authors' works? Why or why not?

I don't tend to read indie authors, unless I've been given a recommendation. Hidden gems are definitely out there!


Is there an author who inspires you?

Philip Pullman and his worlds and characters still astound me.


Give us three fun facts about yourself.

  • I have a cat called Maple

  • I used to knock on people's doors for a political party (Something i now frown on)

  • My favourite TV show is Better Call Saul

What's one of your funniest experiences?

Probably the time I did karaoke someone set me up for, realising I didn't know the song but still managing to wing it.


What is something about you that few people know?

If they've only seen me in online spaces, they may not know that I am 6 foot 4!


Do you have any hobbies?

Besides reading and writing, I like long walks.


Connect with W.E. Parker here.


Featured Book: The Cloudscape Chronicles

Excellent writer. Look forward to more!...Simple but sweet.


Who was your favorite character to write and why?

My favourite character is the main character Alphie Ateal and his personal development throughout the novel.



What was your favorite scene to write and why?

My favourite scene has to be the first meeting between the Founder and Bexley and Alphie. He reveals his story and character in a way that tells you about him without giving too much away of his plans.


What's the message you worked into this book?

That love conquers all. Cheesy but true!


Love didn't build this world, Mr Ateal. Ambition and power built it, brick by weighty brick." Not something I agree with exactly, but a quote nonetheless.

What was the spark that started The Cloudscape Chronicles?

It started with reading about the Desert Eagle pistol and how powerful it is for a relatively small gun. It got me thinking about the kind of man who would wield such a weapon, and then got me thinking about what that character looked like in his worse moments.


What was the most interesting random fact you researched for The Cloudscape Chronicles?

Thomas Edison had a hand in inventing the gramophone






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page