top of page
  • vogelastrid

Reign & Ruin by J.D. Evans

Oh my bleeding heart! What an incredible story! I absolutely loved everything about this novel!


Let me start with the setting because it is absolutely AMAZING! I love fantasy with non-European settings and this one delivers on the level of Guy Gavriel Kay. Historical fantasy at its very very best with a Middle Eastern setting that is so immersive it felt like I was there.


The magical system is incredible. The way everything was conveyed simply slotted into place in my mind so seamlessly, it felt like I was raised knowing about the six houses and their different types of magic, the prejudice towards the house that represents darkness and decay. All of it just worked so, so well. It's become one of my favourite magical systems because of all the focus on balance and harmony and how working together is the way forward, while ostracising any one group leads to imbalance, decay, and disintegration. The symbolism and the deeper meaning just resonated so very strongly for me. I simply loved how everyone dismissed Makram because they simply never took the time to understand his magic.


Naime and Makram were amazing! Their opposites attract worked incredibly and the slow burn was so intense! I loved everything about how they are both incredibly strong characters but still have significant flaws and how when they work together they actually compliment each other and become the most amazing team.


I also really appreciated the fact Naime's father, the sultan, suffers from dementia. It is the first time I've ever come across a fantasy character who does and it worked so, so well, becoming an immensely important element to the story and the key to Naime's struggles.


As soon as I can get my hands on the rest of this series, I'll be devouring it, because I've become a massive fan of Evans' work! You'll definitely be hearing more from me!




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page