top of page
  • vogelastrid

The Beggar Prince by Kate Stradling

What a stunning King Thrushbeard retelling! I absolutely love how the author took the original message and actually turned it into something truly magnificent!


I could not put this book down. I started it just a few hours ago and read it in a single sitting. At first, it was simple mild curiosity on how the author would get to the outcome of the fairytale, but within just a few pages I was gripped. Tor is such a fantastic character, and although I wondered what was going on for the princess, it was nice to have this story stick exclusively to one point of view. And it was ever so important that it did, because there are some very important secrets about the princess.


No. I'm not going to give away any spoilers, which also means I can't talk about the disability representation in this book. All I can say is it was totally unexpected and absolutely brilliant! This is the kind of fantasy story I love to see, where our human diversity is reflected and becomes integral to the stories we tell.


All I can say to the author is: Thank you!



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page