top of page
  • vogelastrid

The Thief's Keeper by Kyrie Wang

Updated: 3 days ago

I was on the edge of my seat for most of this book. The pacing is incredible, and then it kinda slows down and ends in the sweetest way. I read Healer's Blade last year and knew I had to read the prequel as soon as it released.


I was not disappointed. This novel is absolutely incredible. It's so immersive and both characters are so incredibly well written. I also really appreciate how the author brings to life the experiences of medieval peasants. Although these novels echo most closely to The Black Arrow in style, where Stevenson let the nobles slum it, Wang really takes a look at what life was like for the most vulnerable in medieval society. It's not pretty, and it really opens the eye to how much has changed, how far we've come as a society as a whole. Nevertheless, it also reminds about how much we've forgotten.


Another thing I really love about this story is how Wang keeps teasing out examples of a particular theme. Recklessness and courage are technically the same thing. The only difference is the outcome, and that comes across so beautifully in this book. Aelfric is definitely reckless, but he learns to save it for when it really matters, and thankfully he succeeds and doesn't die--although there are several close calls that had me biting my nails.


If you like historical fiction, but are okay with loose interpretation rather than strict adherence to historical fact, you'll absolutely love this series. I adore how it reminds me of some of my favourites from years past. I've mentioned The Black Arrow and another comparable title would be The Three Musketeers. It's a fun adventure with enough historical accuracy to make it feel real, but also with some fun twists that stretch possibility or work off the little we do know and takes very rational conclusions as to the "what ifs" the history can't answer because we have very few records of peasant life from the 11th century.


I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page