top of page
  • vogelastrid

Twice Upon a Name: Double the Fun and Double the Magic

This anthology is a collection of short fantasy stories by a range of authors with the purpose of supporting literacy. If just for the cause, I find this book is already worth getting.


Here follow my individual reviews for each story in the anthology as well as a summary at the end.


O Time, Untangle This by Susan Stradiotto and Sky Sommers is a fantastic short retelling of Shakespeare’s play, Twelfth Night. I loved the characters and the glimpse into the world these two authors have created. It’s a setting that definitely captured my imagination and brought back some nostalgia of my former infatuation with all things pirate. A brilliant start to the anthology.


Siren Song by Meadoe Hora is an interesting read. I enjoyed the Greek mythology thrown in, but didn’t quite get that it’s contemporary until the ending. It’s an interesting snippet and a contained story, but it does leave me with quite a few questions. Perhaps some of them are answered in the author’s main series?


The Lies of Lady Roseberry by Alice Ivinya

This story is unusual for Ivinya, with only very little magic, however as ever, it is overflowing with tense emotion. It reads smoothly and Ivy’s character is superb. I absolutely loved her decision and the ending. I hope Ivinya will do more with this fantastic character she’s created.


Poison Queen by R.S. Williams

Intriguing fae setting with the classic Seelie-Unseelie conflict. There’s some great political intrigue and a hint of romance. The story feels rushed in its current version. I think it could become really good if fleshed out to a novella, which would allow for the romance subplot to shine.


To Walk in Royal Shoes by Marie Reed

Delightfully different and unexpected. This is the second story I’ve read by this author and both have captivated me. I cannot wait for the promised novel.


Born to Prove by Dani Hoots

Urban portal fantasy teaser for the author’s Nordic mythology inspired fantasy series. The first person POV threw me off because I didn’t find out the narrator’s name until the last paragraph, and that’s a pet peeve.


Hyppolita Goes Hunting by Alex Stubblefield

Interesting story about a witch, of the wicked variety. It didn’t quite work for me. Too much telling and the train of thought accompanying the ending was too abrupt. Somehow the build- up the author attempted just didn’t work for me.


The Twin Ambers by Elena Shelest

A sweet historical fantasy set in the breathtaking Ukrainian mountain landscape of the Carpathians. I enjoyed the magical realism feel of this story. It’s dreamy.


For Osian by Sarina Langer

A dystopian world where elves remember the evil humans did to them and seek eternal vengeance. It’s dark and a little gory, but the ending offers some tantalizing hints at what is to come. An interesting teaser, so I hope the author has more in store for us set in this world.


To Find a Queen by Sky Sommers

I enjoyed how this story builds on Sommers’ previous story in the Enchanted Forests charity anthology and I’m very definitely curious to see how things develop next. I’m not usually one for serialised stories, but these short glimpses she’s created for Greta and Eddie are fantastic. I particularly like how each snippet can actually stand on its own.


A Feast of Wills by Bekah Berge

This author has stunned me a second time. I absolutely loved this story about two witches with a bone to pick. I love the sisterly squabble and the conclusion of the story. Definitely one of my favorites in this collection.



Haunting King Ezra by Susan Stradiotto

As always, Stradiotto’s beautiful turns of phrase and wonderful characters captivate. This hauntingly beautiful tale swept me away on a whirlwind adventure that is unique and very moving.


Bloody Mary’s Day Off by Sophia-Rose Johnson

An interesting high-school drama with a witch facing off her non-magical bullies. This was a smooth read and definitely kept me intrigued the whole way through. Neve is not a sympathetic character, but I do understand her as the motivations were clearly shown in the story.



In the Fierce Shadows by Jo Holloway

Fantastic story! Another favorite. The tempo is perfect and I love the characters and the case of the impostor. The hints at the world and trouble brewing are also tantalizing. I look forward to see what this author offers with future stories in that setting.



A Polite Thief by D.M. Taylor

This short story feels like it needs to be turned into a novel. There’s so much going on. Elements reminiscent of Robin Hood and The Little Mermaid meld with an interesting new world. I am left with many unanswered questions and no sign of future developments with this world-building material.


The Hummingbird by C.C. Sullivan

Surreal and brilliant. I absolutely loved the reveal at the end. An interesting magical realism take on souls and life after death that kept me guessing but gave me exactly the right amount of information to keep me on the right page in terms of the adventure. It made me curious, rather than keeping me confused and that’s a real skill.



Terror and Twilight by NDT Casale

An interesting story. I fear the short story format doesn’t do it justice as the world building doesn’t have time to develop and kept me mostly confused. Sultana Ria enters the Twilight Forest accompanied by two sentient frogs to find a cure for her husband’s illness. The ending was good though. I think with a bit more at the beginning, possibly even a scene about the husband falling ill and the MC accepting the quest, the story will feel more well-rounded. It’s a little rushed as it is.


Games Egyptians Play by Donna White

An entertaining adventure story set in Roman-occupied Egypt. I think it fits into White’s world from her novels and definite has me intrigued.


Allie and the Fox by Eurelia Winters

This is a fast-paced action-adventure in a very interesting setting. I look forward to seeing what more this author produces. With a bit of polishing and maybe a bit of expansion on some of the scenes, this story will be compelling and unputdownable.


Cursed Destiny by M.S. Weaver

The most satisfying, incredible and moving ending for this anthology. This story is everything I love about fantasy. Wonderful world-building, excellent characterization, just the right amount of description and a plot that keeps you turning the pages while guessing (wrong) what will happen next. I love the hints at Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs but with an unexpected twist.


I found this anthology highly enjoyable. Certainly, there were some stories that didn’t work for me, but those especially just need a bit of reworking. I can definitely see they have potential and it most cases, it seems the scope of a short story just didn’t do the idea justice. There are however some gems in this collection. My particular favorites are: O Time, Untangle This, The Lies of Lady Roseberry, To Walk in Royal Shoes, A Feast of Wills, Haunting King Ezra, In the Fierce Shadows, The Hummingbird, Cursed Destiny. And this collection is most definitely worth it to read so many fantastic stories and immerse oneself in such varying worlds. Add to that the fact this anthology is supporting literacy, and that makes it all doubly worth it. Twice Upon a Name most definitely has The Book Dragon’s Hoard’s stamp of approval.




22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page